Oliver Law Group P.C.
Dealing with Auto Insurance Companies
OUR ATTORNEYS WON’T DELAY YOUR RIGHT TO COMPENSATION
You have insurance for a reason. The coverage you pay for is what you expect to be insured: yourself, your vehicle and your peace of mind. The last thing you want to deal with is an accident claim, and even the reassurance of your insurance coverage may not be enough to put your mind at ease. At The Oliver Law Group, P.C., we give attention to where it has been denied. Your insurance claim deserves to be dealt with fairly and swiftly.
But not all insurance companies act fairly towards their customers. They are businesses, and they do not like to spend their own money. When you are in a car accident, the last thing you need is for a business-like approach to a problem that runs on a much deeper, personal level. That’s why our law firm offers a personal approach. We handle every case uniquely. And we don’t stop fighting for you until we get results.
YOU’RE COVERED IN A NO-FAULT STATE
In the state of Michigan, if you are in a car accident you are entitled to no-fault insurance benefits. It does not matter who was at fault for the accident, everyone receives coverage with the exception of the driver of an uninsured vehicle. Medical claims are paid out through your own insurance company, while the liability coverage of the driver who caused the accident pays for repairs and damage to your automobile.
This liability coverage is mandatory in Michigan, and its minimum is known as 20/40/10, which breaks down into:
- $20,000 for bodily injury
- Up to $40,000 per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
Of course, not every driver has insurance, even though it’s the law. And in some cases, you may have expenses in excess of what the other driver’s liability insurance will cover. That’s why it’s so important to add uninsured and underinsured motorist protection to your policy, so that you can file a claim with your own insurance company for damages that should have been covered by the at-fault driver.
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO GIVE A RECORDED STATEMENT
One of the most common and primary proceedings of an insurance claim is a recorded statement. You will be asked about all the details of your accident by an insurance adjuster who may not let the details work in your favor. Your words could be twisted and the insurance company may attempt to reduce your claim, which is unacceptable.
You should always consult with a lawyer before agreeing to give a statement. Any possible acknowledgement of fault could give the company an excuse to reduce your settlement, or deny your claim altogether. Moreover, a recorded statement can be taken out of context and used against you. That’s why we strongly recommend sitting down with an attorney to draft a written statement instead.
HOW DO INSURANCE COMPANIES INVESTIGATE CLAIMS?
Once you have filed a claim, the insurance company’s job is to collect details on the accident, and keep you updated as the process slowly moves along. You may be asked to provide or consent to some of the following:
- A copy of the police report from the accident
- A full inspection of your vehicle
- Photos of the accident
- Medical bills if injuries were sustained
- A HIPPA form that will allow access to medical records.
Remember, the insurance company’s goal is to protect their own bottom line. Your best course of action is to work with an attorney who will advocate for your interests before providing any information or authorization to the insurance company. Otherwise, they may be able to access information, such as medical records, that serve no purpose except to reduce your recovery.
EXPENSES AND YOU
After an accident, your options for immediate fixes to your body and automobile are limited. Your insurance company will cover repairs by one of their pre-approved mechanics or auto body shops. If you are uneasy about straying from your usual shop, you may still be able to if you are willing to pay the difference between your coverage and repair costs. A rental car may also be covered.
You need to track every single expense related to the accident, including mileage. If you can’t prove an expense, your insurance company will use it as an excuse to reduce your claim.
YOU ARE ENTITLED TO LOST WAGES
Your auto insurance company should reimburse you with wages lost due to injuries you’ve sustained in the accident. This reimbursement is incredibly important. You may be the only breadwinner in your household, or be supporting yourself. You need financial stability in order to stay afloat, whether you have missed two days or two weeks of work. Auto insurance companies can be incredibly slow in paying that money to you. They may delay, dispute or deny your claim. Don’t let them keep you from your livelihood call an attorney today.
WILL MY INSURANCE RATES INCREASE?
By law, the insurance company can’t raise your rate for filing a no-fault claim – that is the entire point of having no-fault benefits. But just because they’re not supposed to doesn’t mean they won’t try. Make sure you have an attorney on your side to ensure that the insurance company treats you fairly, or hold them accountable if they don’t.
WE ARE A PHONE CALL AWAY
Our services begin with a free consultation. You only need to worry about dialing a phone number. We handle the rest. Contact us by phone or online and feel like you are in control of your situation again. Remember, once you have an attorney on your side, an insurance company must speak to us before talking to you. This means you have a barrier of legal knowledge and experience protecting you every step of the way. Trust us to make things easy, and make things right.