What are Domestic Violence Charges in Michigan?
Domestic abuse is a serious matter. In 2017, The Michigan State Police Crime published that there were 91,004 reported victims and 105 reported murders related to domestic violence. Domestic violence is a misdemeanor and punishable by up to 93 days in jail as well as a potential of a $500 fine.
Acts that may constitute domestic violence can include:
- Placing a family or household member in fear of physical or mental harm
- Causing or attempting to cause physical harm to a family or household member
- Engaging in behavior that may make a family or household member feel terrorized or fearful for their safety
If you’ve been accused, you need an aggressive attorney who tirelessly works towards protecting your rights and achieving a favorable outcome on your behalf.
Michigan Aggravated Domestic Assault Charges
The Michigan penal code states that aggravated domestic assault charges can be claimed when an alleged victim receives injuries that require medical treatment, especially if the treatment is ongoing. A jail sentence is usually associated with a charge of aggravated domestic assault, along with fines.
For a misdemeanor (first-offense) conviction, those convicted face up to one year in jail and/or $1,000 in fines. For a felony conviction, the penalty is up to two years of jail time and/or $2,500 in fines.
Medical treatment is often needed for head injuries, broken bones, fractures, and many other commonplace injuries that can happen as a result of falls among other ordinary instances. An injury could have been sustained earlier in the day or week, and only be shown at its most aggressive stage during the time of the accusation. It is very easy to mistake these injuries for ones caused by domestic assault.
What Happens If My Case Goes to Trial?
In the time that your trial is pending, a “no contact provision” may be ordered. It requires you to stay away from the accused and not contact them or have interactions with them in any capacity. It may also be used to tell you areas that are off-limits to you, or how far you must stay away from them.
Don’t worry, we are on your side. Domestic violence is often falsely reported, and many people feel that their situation fits the criteria for a domestic violence charge when it in fact falls short. The laws regarding domestic violence in Michigan can be quite intricate, which is why you need a reputable and experienced Troy criminal defense attorney on your side.
Contact us today for a free case evaluation and to learn more about what we can do for you. Call today.